Mermaid Verse

music flows from lips and as words meet sound bound and found me, your eyes wide open, soul sprightly greeting thee….

These Hands (6-26-2011) by Megan Seaman

Leave a comment

“I like my naked fingers

All pink all bare

Silver and gold is gone

Weight of your misery is absent

From these hands.

 

And they move freely across my skin

Exploring the bumps and hairs and scars

That you could never love

The skin that was frigid, cold

Now, thawing

from inside out.

 

I think of you and remember

A heat a fire

It started from a spark or what you called love

Looking back, it was friction

The kind created from opposition

Of two surfaces.

 

But

What I felt was real.

My eyes were open.

I saw what was there.

Or it was my blood, my open heart

My very soul that I gazed upon.

My hope and idealistic dream.

 

Fuck it.

 

I’m alive. I’m warm.

Fleshy, moving, opening up my skin

With these very fingers

You could never

Hold.

 

What I feel is no longer

A fire, but

A glowing energy

A sun

A star

A blazing heat,

Deep deep deep

Within me.” – Megan Marie Seaman

Author: meganseaman

trying to remember what I was looking for...

Leave a Reply

