Mermaid Verse

music flows from lips and as words meet sound bound and found me, your eyes wide open, soul sprightly greeting thee….

You’re Not Right For Me (8-3-2012) by Megan Seaman

Leave a comment

White Pirate Ship on distant waters

Friday, August 3, 2012, 12:42AM, sitting writing my dissertation. Got a text message from TF. It read, “The Buddha was with me today.” ‘The Buddha” being the small Buddha trinket I gave to him before his trip to Columbus. He’s stealing my heart. And I know it’s all wrong. Oh, love, oh life. Is it really about being brave enough to get your heart broken again and again?

 

You’re not right for me

This is all wrong.

You told me you liked the mountains

I told you I liked the sun

And the way it shines on waving tide

Of an ocean, Atlantic blue

The feel of sand under soft toes

And mellifluous sea songs too.

 

You told me that you would never accept

The furry little beings that accompanied my side

I told you that love knows no limits

It is unbounded, infinite and shows its pride

In the small gestures and looks

That are shared by two lovers

Unafraid to let go, open up

Reveal what’s covered.

 

You told me that you were scared to love again

and lay bare your downy tum

where the huntress once crept

and laid her blade down

on holy body, yours to sacrifice

to give it all up, without looking back

move forward, and not think twice.

 

And that is why I know

You’re not right for me and this is all wrong.

I said I wanted to love you

You said you wanted to move on.

 

So, just go.

Leave, now.

let me be, Gypsy soul.

Before I look back, turn around, let love take its toll

Because if you’re looking to pay the price

Then what you’ll get is the deed

And a heart of gold to entice

Cast its spell to follow her lead.” – Megan Marie Seaman

 

Author: meganseaman

trying to remember what I was looking for...

Leave a Reply

